The other day some of the students in my 3rd period class were still working on the computers when the announcements came on. One student did not stand up for the pledge of allegiance and instead continued to work. Luckily, I didn’t have to say anything to him about it because one of the other students did it for me. This particular student, I will call him Marty, wants to go into the marines after graduating. He called out the other student on his failure to stand and informed him that he was being disrespectful. When the other student tried to play it off like it wasn’t a big deal, Marty proceeded to ask if he was willing to enlist. Before the other student could answer, Marty said, “no? Then stand.”

I love it when students keep each other accountable for their actions. I think it often has more of an impact when it comes from a peer rather than a teacher.