I come across students every year that I refer to (at least to myself) as “point mongers”. These are the students who, upon receiving an assignment, always ask questions like “is this worth points?” and “How many points is this worth?”

On one hand, it’s important that students know how they are being assessed, but I really hate getting these questions. I get them mostly from younger students, 9th and 10 grade.

These questions are like traps for teachers. If you say no, they follow up with “then why should I do it?” What I want to say to that is – “Oh, I don’t know, maybe to LEARN something… I’m pretty sure that’s the point of coming to school, isn’t it?” I am very sarcastic in my head, but of course I can’t say this to the student. Instead I tell them that it helps them retain the information better and they will have something to study when the test comes. This response does not always work because so many students are only concerned with collecting points so they can get their “A” that they don’t care whether they actually learn something.

If I say that yes, it is worth points, the followup question becomes “how many?” It’s as if they are trying to decide if the amount of points it will get them is worth their time and effort to actually do it. Sometimes, if they find out after not completing a homework assignment that it’s worth a lot of points, or any points at all, they will resort to copying just so they can get their points.

I think the root cause of this problem is the short-sightedness of so many students. They don’t see how a lack of effort now will affect them later. They just need a grade that is ‘good enough’ to keep their parents off their back, or to stay eligible for their sport. If they thought about the long-term a little more often (or at all) they might see that they will be better off putting the work in now instead of always trying to find the short-cut.

I teach a lesson on goals in my personal finance class where I touch on types of motivation. I try to explain the difference between intrinsic and extrinsic motivation, including that while extrinsic motivation (grades, money) may be fairly effective in the short run, it is intrinsic motivation (pride in oneself and one’s work, inner purpose) that results in true, long-term success. I tell them that those students who are here to learn something for their future will get a good grade anyway, more or less as a byproduct of their honest efforts, but that those that are just here for a good grade will not necessarily learn as much, and aren’t even guaranteed to get an A. I think at least some of my students seem to understand after this lesson, but alas, I cannot reach them all, especially if they are not receptive to my message.